Afore Consulting is an independent, premium European public affairs consultancy with a core area of expertise in financial services, regulation and competition issues. Please join us on

©Afore Consulting
Disclaimer - Cookies Policy - Privacy Policy - Terms of use - Privacy Centre


Select Page
Home Past events 5th Annual Conference on FinTech and Regulation: New Challenges and New Solutions

5th Annual Conference on FinTech and Regulation: New Challenges and New Solutions

We are delighted to invite you to the Fifth Annual Afore Consulting Conference on FinTech and Regulation: New Challenges and New Solutions that will take place as an online event between 2 and 4 February 2021.

The upcoming conference will focus on the following themes:

  • The challenges around digital identification and on-boarding
  • The developments towards European Financial Data Spaces
  • Digital operational resilience in the financial sector
  • The use of technology in Anti-Money Laundering (AML)
  • Cloud-driven innovation in the financial services sector
  • Interrelations between new technologies and financial services
  • The introduction of a digital euro
  • Green Fintech innovations
  • Crypto-assets and international regulation

As ever, we are joined by a stellar line-up of speakers. Confirmed speakers for our 2021 conference include Mairead McGuinness, European Commissioner for Financial Services, José Manuel Campa, Chairman of the EBA, Steven Maijoor, Chairman of the ESMA, Gabriel Bernardino, Chairman of the EIOPA, Pentti Hakkarainen, European Central Bank, Ulrich Bindseil, Director General of Market Infrastructure and Payments, European Central Bank (ECB), Robert Ophèle, Chairman of the AMF, Jean-Paul Servais, Vice Chair of the IOSCO Board, Chairman of Belgium’s FSMA, Roberto Viola, Director-General, DG CONNECT, Marcel Haag, Director, Horizontal Policies, DG FISMA, Stasys Jakeliunas, MEP, Eero Heinalouma, MEP, Ondrej Kovarik, MEP, Eva Kaili, MEP, Valerie Szczepanik, Director of the Strategic Hub for Innovation and Financial Technology (FinHub) Office, U.S. SEC, Sylvie Goulard, Second Deputy Governor, Banque de France, Joachim Wuermeling, Member of the Executive Board, Deutsche Bundesbank, Marius Jurgilas, Board Member, Bank of Lithuania, as well as Jan Ceyssens, Head of the Digital Finance Unit, DG FISMA, Alain Deckers, Head of Unit, Corporate reporting, Audit and Credit Rating Agencies, DG FISMA, Pēteris Zilgalvis, Head of Unit, Digital Innovation and Blockchain, DG CONNECT and Peter Kerstens, Adviser for Financial Sector Digitalisation and cybersecurity, DG FISMA, European Commission.

Also confirmed are Noé de la Rubia, Criminal Intelligence Officer, Europol, Tomáš Nýdrle, Head of Payment services and Market Infrastructure Unit, Ministry of Finance of the Czech Republic, Sharon Yang, Deputy Assistant Secretary for International Financial Markets, U.S. Treasury, Coen ter Wal, Policy Advisor, Netherlands Central Bank (DNB), Christopher P. Buttigieg, Chief Officer Supervision and CEO ad interim, Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA), Sopnendu Mohanty, Chief Fintech Officer, Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), Claudia Guagliano, Team Leader, Innovation and Products, ESMA, Anne Choné, Senior Officer, Financial Innovation, ESMA, Eva Hupkes, Head of Regulatory and Supervisory Policies, FSB, Alison Russell, Head of Innovation Department, UK Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), Dr. Stephan Bredt, Director General Economic Sector, Financial Services, Exchanges, Ministry of Economics, Energy, Transport and Housing of the State of Hessen, Philip Sandner, Head of the Frankfurt School Blockchain Center (FSBC), Frankfurt School of Finance & Management, Michael Cole-Fontayn, Chairman, Association for Financial Markets in Europe (AFME), Richard Blore, CEO KY3P, IHS Markit, Emmanuel Givanakis, Deputy CEO ADGM Financial Services Regulatory Authority, Jeffrey Brown, Senior Vice President, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, Charles Schwab, Lance Uggla, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, IHS Markit, William Hoffman, Regional CISO UK & Ireland and Head of CSO Governance & Control, Deutsche Bank, Duncan Olby, Head of Wallet & Payments for International Markets, Apple Pay, Christian Catalini, Chief Economist, Diem Association (FKA Libra Association), Tom Shane, AI Product Lead, Google Cloud, Matt Henderson, Business Lead EMEA, Stripe, Lisa Rabbe, Chief Government and Public Affairs Officer, Moody’s, James Kemp, Managing Director of the Global FX Division, Technology and Operations and Policy Divisions, GFMA and AFME, Stella Nunn, Director, Operational, Resilience and IT Risk, PWC, Jan Eger, Head of International Government & Regulatory Affairs, Refinitiv, Thomas Lillelund, CEO Europe, Middle East & Africa, AIG, Philip McHugh, CEO, Paysafe, Darren Innes, Vice-President, Head of AML Technology, Nasdaq, Kate Salottolo, Vice President, Global Head of AML, Anti-Bribery and Corruption and Brand Risk Management, PayPal, Thomas Kurian, CEO, Google Cloud, Antony Cahill, Managing Director, Europe Regions, VISA, as well as Nickolas Reinhardt, Director, Anne Keane, Director, Daniel Trinder, Senior Policy Advisor, Linda Strazdina, Senior Consultant and Paloma Garcia Munoz, Senior Consultant, Afore Consulting.

A more detailed programme and further information can be found on the website.

We would be delighted if you were able to join us between 2 and 4 February 2021.

The Afore Consulting Team

The event is finished.


02 - 04 Feb 2021
Linda Strazdina


Linda Strazdina

Senior Consultant and Head of Technology Practice

Other Organizers

Esther Bleys
Esther Bleys